I love Sundays.

Not only because it was race day (see previous post), but also because it is when I get set to start my week.

Today after my race I decided that next week needs to be a lot better managed than this past week. I think by Wednesday I had decided I didn’t have groceries and did not want to cook. This does not go well for me.

Today, I decided that would not be how this week went. I know my body and know that I feel a million times better when I eat well. Most people probably do. Even though this city has amazing options for clean eating when eating out, it still does not feel as good as home cooked meals and snacks.

I am in no ways a foodie or a food blogger, but this is my version of it, so bare with me.

blog food

Today I prepared two snacks that will be good for at work and as running fuel, a breakfast option, and a dinner that will carry over for a few lunches and can easily be revamped for dinners by adding more veggies or a grain.

First I made Date bars! These are a staple for me, however this time I went with a more earthy flavor. Don’t be fooled by my description, they are delicious. Using the food processor I gradually added walnuts, cashews, sunflower seeds, dates, sunflower seed butter, chia, flax, and hemp protein. I can’t give measurements because I just add things until they all stick together, so if you test them out just play around. Worst case, you will end up with more than anticipated.

Second, in the middle of the photo, I prepared chia seed pudding. This is 4 tbsp of Chia seeds, a little vanilla extract, 1 1/2 cups almond milk, cinnamon, and 2 mashed bananas. I also prepared the toppings in, which means I am soaking almonds and buckwheat and have blueberries to add on top in the morning. Yum!

Recipe from: http://ohsheglows.com/2013/02/18/chia-seed-breakfast-bowl/

On the far right, are the ‘cookies’ I made. These didn’t quite go as planned. They have all the ingredients but I did not quite master the texture…I also didn’t bake them on parchment paper as recommended in the recipe I used. These are power cookies with dates, pecans, dark chocolate, some gluten free flour, oats, coconut sugar and some other things (they are dairy, gluten, and refined sugar free, and egg free!) also YUM!  Oh, and what didn’t work was that they all fell apart so I made them into muffins…by squishing them together in muffin papers while they were still hot. Problem solved.

Recipe from: http://ohsheglows.com/2013/12/18/turtle-oatmeal-cookies-with-pecans-chocolate-and-medjool-dates/

Finally the entree. I prepared a Chickpea coconut red curry. This is simple and fast and tasty! I used potatoes, red pepper, coconut milk, red curry paste, coconut oil, and chickpeas. Done.

Recipe from: http://thewanderlustkitchen.com/6-ingredient-vegan-chickpea-curry/

I rarely have days where I actually want to spend time in the kitchen, so today was one to seize and I did! I am so excited to have home made snacks this week and to avoid grabbing snacks on my way out to runs after work! The only thing left that I think I would like to make are some homemade scones, because sometimes nothing beats a fluffy, sweet scone. But that might wait until later in the week! I have been trying to find a good ‘healthy’ scone recipe, and am yet to find one. So far the best bet looks like a gluten-free flour, and making it into a self-rising flour..which seems like quite a fun science experiment..that may not go well for me but I will try! They still call for some sugar, but not much and I will substitute with coconut flour and see how they go. Maybe those will make an appearance on the blog next week, either as a recommendation or warning not to try it at home.

